K1 or DCF filing? Please help!

Hello all...hope you can help me...

I am an English teacher who has lived in China for the past five years. I've dated a wonderful lady for the past four years and it's time to get married. I'm FINE with that...here's my dilemma...we are not sure if it will be better to get a K1 visa or a DCF visa. I hear from my friends here the advantages of both. Ideally, I THINK I would like to move back to the States in about two years, but I'm not SURE. I like my job here. I'd like my fiancee to see the US as soon as she can...she's waited long enough. So...in short...my question is, is it better to get the K1 and get married in the States or get the DCF, get married here in China and go from there, not exactly knowing what my residence plans will be during the next few years. Any help is much appreciated!

-Aaron :rolleyes:

• Replies 82
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Guest ShaQuaNew

I don't know the details for getting a DCF in China, but there are a few on this site that do. Indeed, if you can DCF, and have that option available, it's my understanding that it's quicker and less painful than other alternatives. With that said, I think that most would agree that if time is the issue with getting your partner to the states, that K1 is second....