Must speak English during interview

Hi,

I'm a newbie to this site. I've been reading all the posted messagen and have found that the visa officer speaks English during the interview. I'm fluent in Mandarin and communicate with my fiancee in Mandarin.

Will the visa officer speak Mandarin? Is English a requirement?

Thanks.

From everything I have been told, there is no requirements for either of you to speak each others language. Carl (warpedbored) will confirm this as he went to the question and answer session at the embassy.

The only requirement is that you are able to communicate with each other. They want to see enough communication to establish and maintain a relationship. I understand a interpreter is available to the VO if they need one.

Since she will not be speaking English at the interview, I would recommend having a VCD made showing either you speaking fluent Mandarin for 5 minutes or better yet the two of you communicating for 15 minutes. This will be enough to show the VO the level of your communication. Have her take the VCD to the interview. They will probably give her a blue slip. The blue slip simply means they need more information. On it will probably be the request to prove your level of communication. She can then hand the VO your VCD right away. She still may have to come back for the decision as they will probably review it later, but the VCD should be enough to overcome any apprehension by the embassy.

Are you going to be in Guangzhou during the interview? I ask because I understand you can get the VCD made close to the embassy. It will be in the exact format they require. I think others have said it can be made at the "White Swan", but don't quote me on this.

Any way, Welcome to Candle,

Good luck and best wishes,

Michael