Just not connecting

I hate to be posting this here, but I didn't know where else to do it properly.... but now that my wife and son are in the US,.... there is no connection.... I'm not sure what to do about it either. I have tried everything I could. It is my hope someone here might have the answer for us. I really don't know where else to turn. :)

Lao Po's laptop is throughly Chinese.... we are trying to connect wirelessly and we are unable get an IP address. I do this for a living and I'm unable to get this resolved... We even went to a Chinese computer store where I used to do a lot of business. I left it there for 2 days and they got it to work in the store... but once back at my house... still no IPadress. I know it is a setting on the laptop, because I already put the password in for my router and it is connected, but just not getting an IP adress,,, I call the computer store and they said bring it back... heck, they are 15 miles away. Just wanted to know if anyone here experienced this.

It's got to come from a DHCP server - the router should get it's IP address from your provider's DHCP server, and then it also needs to be a DHCP server for your own computers.

Check the setup on the router. You should be able to access it through a browser at http:\192.168.0.1, or 192.168.0.100, or 192.168.1.0 or something like that.

You may already know this - if so, give us more details - you know, the dirt.

Pretty creative there with the topic, but watch it! :)

Edited by Randy W (see edit history)

It's got to come from a DHCP server - the router should get it's IP address from your provider's DHCP server, and then it also needs to be a DHCP server for your own computers.

Check the setup on the router. You should be able to access it through a browser at http:\192.168.0.1, or 192.168.0.100, or 192.168.1.0 or something like that.