TV, Internet, Phone, etc.

Hey Guys,

I am writing to ask for some advice written in very plain laymen's non-technical English because I am still a bit behind the times on technical stuff. I'm not good at sifting through plans and figuring out what you are really going to pay for x, y, and z.

Right now, I have Cox communications for my land phone (with $4.00/month international service, calls to China run about $.13/minute), for cable TV (just basic digital cable, no international programming), and for internet service (their middle level high speed internet service which includes firewall, virus, anit spyware). The phone portion costs me about $83.00 per month on average. The cable and internet run me about $98.00 per month. My cell phone is with T-Mobile and costs me about $34.00 per month and includes 300 anywhere minutes. So, for all of this each month I am paying about $217.00. This includes all of the fees and taxes.

My girl and her son will be coming this fall (if all goes well). I need to get away from Cox and get satellite TV that includes at least some Chinese programming, comparable internet service, and a cheaper long distance service (my friend Mike Xiao recommends E-callNet.com phone cards at about $.02/minute for long distance to China. That sounds good.) I have looked on line at Dish Net, and Dish Network, etc., for my internet and TV, but I find their information a bit comfusing.

So now, I think I would like to keep T-Mobile and simply go to a family plan to cover my new family, maybe use the cell to make the calls to China since it involves calling long distance within the U.S. to E-call Net. Then I would just drop my land line period. Would that work for the phone part?

And, I really need help figuring out how to get decent TV and Internet service from one of the satellite companies.

If you can guide me in this, I shall be forever in your debt. unsure.gif