true chinese

On my flight back from China, I sat next to an interesting old Chinese man. We talked a bit. He was going back to NY where he immigrated to some years ago. He turned out to be a bit of a seer because when I showed him a picture of my wife he guessed her profession and also guessed the region of China she was from. I know this can be chalked up to some "parlor room" trick but it was still quite amazing. He went on talking about how he can tell from facial features what part of China one is from. He spoke of "true" Chinese and how few there are left. I'm no expert but I know of Cantonese to the south and that over 90% of the population is Han and is the majority ethnic group with many minority ethnic groups including the manchu and maybe the mongols. I'm just curious about what he meant by "true Chinese." Anybody know?....I didn't understand him.

I found this cool webpage listing ethnic groups of China:

http://www.nationmaster.com/encyclopedia/L...e-ethnic-groups

Also, he carried a U.S. passport that was green. Is this an old passport or is it the kind given to naturalized citizens?

Thanks

I'm no expert but I know of Cantonese to the south and that over 90% of the population is Han and is the majority ethnic group with many minority ethnic groups including the manchu and maybe the mongols.

While going to the Great Wall, we got into a conversation with our driver about this. He said that he remembered when he was in school, he had to fill out some forms, and one of the questions dealt with his ethnicity. He didn't know the answer, so he asked the teacher. The teacher said to put Han which he did. So, now he is Han for the rest of his life.

A piece of unverified trivia. The Chinese flag's five stars were supposed to represent the five major ethnic groups - Han (the big star), Manchu, Mongolians, Tibetans and Uyghurs. I think revisionist history now gives the stars political significance, with the big star representing the CP.