Still on hold

I am a newbie to the site, but congratulations for a job well done.

My wife wife's Priority Date is 18-APR-2002 and actual interview at Guangzhou was 12-AUG-2002

The latest information we have is an e-mail reply from Guangzhou dated Wed, 11 Dec 2002 15:24:24 +0800 (they did reply in only one day)

"Dear Mr. Krout Thank you for your email, we have not received the stateside notice that your wife's namecheck is completed, once we can issue her a visa, we will contact her by express mail. sincerely yours immigrant visa unit "

After over a year waiting on a K-1 filed OCT-2000, we then had Guangzhou mess that one up and scheduled my fiancee's daughter for the fiancee interview. Guangzhou's "solution" was that we would have to start over and file again. (I double checked the paperwork copies I had and they were filled out correctly) By that point I had decided that it was easier for me to move to China and work anyway, so I was already living in Dalian. I checked with Shenyang Consulate and they informed us that it was no problem to get married and that my new step-daughter would be included in my wife's application since the daughter was not yet 21. Therefore, we were married March 3, 2002.

After much difficulty getting the satisfactory paperwork from the Chinese authorities (they knew she was marrying an American, so we were targets for plenty of extra "fees"), I filed the papers and paid the application fees. I was asked to wait while they reviewed the papers. After a long wait I was called back to the counter and the application and the fees for my new daughters visa where returned to me. Very sorry, but they had made a mistake, she was not eligible because she was over 18. Now the visa for my step-daughter was down the tubes thanks to misinformation and bumbling.