Another help please.

Ok, I received the DS230 Part 1 but it doesn't ask anything for my wife to send, not even the biographic info of her passport. Do you think they missed to infrom us? They just asked to pay attention to the specific q's on # 4 - 7 - 9 - 20 - 25 and an instruction on q's #19. Any idea please?

Second is that since I am self-employed they are asking for my license on my business. I am a contractor and I do not have a license. I understand license is only for retails. Is it ok if I provide my letter head? Any suggestion please? I can also submit a copy of my license with regard to my financial services.

Any help is appreciated, thank you.

They are asking for your license to do business. You have to have some sort of license to do business. If you actaully do not have a license - then how else can you prove that you do have a business? The tax returns prove this - but I'm sure they expect to still see a license.

Scott

Jakerhod, some states require contractors to have a license. I would tell them a license is not required in your state. Maybe you can provide some other proof of your business like a bank statement, credit card bill, newspaper advertisement or yellow page listing. Plus, your tax returns should show them a history of your business. No matter whether you are a sole proprietor, partnership or a corporation, there is information about your business on all these returns.

Good luck, hope everything goes smoothly!

For tax purposes no licence is required. That's how they brought down Al Capone. I believe all states require a contractors licence of some sort to do that kind of business. Most cities also require a business license as well. At the very least you should have a federal employers ID #.

I am self employed also. I have no license. There are many people who are self employed that do not have a license to do business. Don’t worry about this.