Expired US Reentry Permits

Hello all, 

I am a US citizen, my wife is a Chinese citizen but 10-year green card holder, and our 4 year old daughter is a US citizen.  I have been working in China for many years now as an expatriate, working at a stated-owned customer site.  We were supposed to move back to the US back in the 2018-2019 timeframe, but my contract got extended a few times.  Before we left the US to return to China in early Jan 2020 (actual date was around Jan 7th, 2020), we got my wife a 2 year reentry permit that expired in January 2022.  Unfortunately, COVID hit in early 2020, and the China's strict zero-COVID policies were only recently abandoned in early 2023.  Furthermore, my Chinese customer strongly discouraged us from leaving their site/China because we may not be able to return due to their even stricter COVID policies (they required a 42 day quarantine to even be able to apply to return to their site), which would have negative impacts on our contracts with them.  As a result, it was very impractical for us to return to the US to renew my wife's reentry permit which is now 1 year expired. 

Fast forward to today, we have decided we will be permanently moving back to the US around September 2023 timeframe.  Due to my wife's expired reentry permit, but valid green card, we plan to bring the following material to the US Customs Border Patrol (CBP) in case any questions are raised:

a) US tax returns from last year and this year where we always file jointly    

b) A stamped letter from my customer that basically states they discouraged us from leaving due to contractual obligations

c) A letter from my home US based company that confirms we are moving back to the US permanently

d) Perhaps some financial beneficiary statements that show my wife and I are financially tied together?