Long term residence permit REALLY necessary for DCF?

I have been a student in China for 9 semesters in a row (4.5 years) but I have recently come back to USA for summer holiday, and I'll be flying back through Guangzhou and would like to stop there and submit my I-130 application without first going back to my school to get my residence permit (I'm entering on a student visa).

Is it really 100% necessary to have my residence permit before submitting the I-130? Do they even check?

I'm going to be living in the same dorm that I've been in for over 4 years.

It would be annoying and time consuming and costly to have to go back to my school first, get my residence permit and then fly back to Guangzhou.

Below is their official wording:

If you do not have a long-term Chinese residence permit, you must file a petition at your local USCIS office when you return to the United States.

Yes they do check, USCIS window tends to be a one day thing, GUZ is Friday 8:30am - 10:30am

http://guangzhou.usembassy-china.org.cn/uscis---location-and-contact-information.html

From USCONGUZ: http://candleforlove.com/forums/topic/24225-residency-requirements-to-file-within-china/

Note there are two USCIS field offices one in Guangzhou, the other in Beijing, you file petition at the office having jurisdiction over residency.

It's a matter of whether they will accept your petition at the window. If you have other proof of residence, you might just give it a try.

The residence permit referred to by USCONGUZ would be a visa, affixed to your passport. Requirements have since relaxed, and I'll bet your student visa would suffice, especially if you have previous entries.

• 3 weeks later...