Attending American Citizens Hour

Dear fellow CFLers,

As part of the recent wave of P4's I'm making my list of things to do and checking it twice.

My mom will be coming out to China to meet us in August and help us calm our nerves on the big interview day. I graduated from college just two years ago, and have been studying in China and working since then. This past year is my first year of employment, and therefore my folks are acting as our sponsor for the affidavit of support. I think having my mom as well as me in Guangzhou for the interview date will be one more testament of the legitimate and loving relationship that I have with my wife.

I have read many posts concerning attending the ACH on Fridays as a way to talk to the VOs and show the human side of each case. I was wanting to get some more feedback on how useful this is. Some have said that attending ACH is recorded in the file and the officer can see this during the interview. If this is so, and it is really helpful I think my mom and I might go down there to attend ACH. But if ACH is just a Q&A session...then I feel that CFL already has us prepared.

The only reason that I hestitate going is that my wife's interview is on a Tuesday. So that means staying in Guangzhou for nearly a week in total just to spend a few minutes talking with a visa officer. Ideally my wife and I would like to show my mom some more parts of China than just the Guangzhou area. But if going to ACH is what must be done, then it shall be done.

Any feedback from those who have gone before?

Thanks! And good luck to all those preparing for the upcoming interviews!

-Fred

Guest pushbrk
Dear fellow CFLers,

As part of the recent wave of P4's I'm making my list of things to do and checking it twice.