China DCF: Evidence of Bona Fide Marriage

Hey all,

My girlfriend and I have been cohabitating for a few years in China and we're planning to get married in the middle of January, and then shortly after file an I-130 in Guangzhou. Of course, we need to provide evidence of our "bona fide marriage" but we are going to be married like a week before we submit the I-130 in Guangzhou. All the evidence we have is really just evidence of our relationship (pictures spanning three years, airline tickets, my passport exit/entry stamps, my residence permits and visas, copies of my most recent contracts, etc...), we don't have any stuff showing joint assets or anything like that. I was planning on getting affidavits from two of my coworkers here in China and my current employer, but after researching around I've found that the affidavits that they'd write would need to be notarized (i'm assuming that they'd need to be notarized by the US Embassy or Consulate). But we live in Henan and it isn't practical or really possible to ask them to travel with us to the Embassy in order to affirm/notarize their documents.

I guess my question is: how screwed are we?

-Jake

You've been reading too much crap online. Relax. There's nothing really wrong with what they say, but when it gets repeated often enough on sites like CFL and VJ, it gets taken for Gospel.

Evidence is what it is - it's what you HAVE, not what someone else had or says you NEED. An un-notarized Relationship Affidavit is still Relationship evidence - remember that YOU are submitting it (in effect) under oath. If it's hand-written, and signed, that should be authentic enough to qualify as EVIDENCE and help your case.