My Chinese Girlfriend Refused for 2 Visas, Next Steps?

Hi,

This is my first time posting here. I got some bad news today: My girlfriend received the results of her Canadian Study Permit Visa that we spent two months working on, and a fair amount of money (the agent I hired charged 900.00 CAD), and the result was rejection. More specifically, her visa request was denied because she had not "satisfied" the officer that she "would leave Canada at the end of her stay."

I met my girlfriend a little over a year ago and we've been dating ever since. I was here teaching and taking Chinese, but I was nearing the end of my 1-year contract doing the former and preparing to return to the U.S., where I'm from. But I fell for her, and part of that I'm sure was her explaining to me that she fully planned to attend college in Toronto the following year.

I, reluctantly, signed on for another 6 months at my job, even though my relationship with my verbally abusive boss was devolving into something unsustainable, and she set out on the path to get her Study Visa, by taking her IELTS (she received an overall score of 6.5).

But in June, the situation at my job became so bad that I had to leave. My boss threatened both me and my girlfriend (who he had met on a few occasions) and demanded exorbitant amounts of money for my exit. As a result of this, we made a new plan: to visit my family in the U.S. for the summer, after which time she would return to China and secure her study visa, and I would come back with her (probably) on a tourist visa. But it wasn't to be.