Sponsorship Question

Dear All,

I hope I can make this as coherent as possible. I am concerned that I will not be able to get my wife a green card, or into the US at all. I currently have been living with my wife for over a year in China and started the process for my wife's green card, however I found out that I need, or find someone, to sponsor her. Since I am unable to do this or have anyone that can. Does that mean my wife is unable to go to the US? We currently have a two and half month baby, but from everything I have read, researched, and found it seems a no go. I am 28 and my wife is 26. I currently work as an English Teacher but am worried now that my wife will never be able to visit the US, and I don't want to leave my wife. We have gotten the passport and SSN for the child already. I erroneously assumed that getting my wife into the US would be easy.

Your questions, comments, and/or feedback would be much appreciated.

Regards,

Robert

Firstly the person filing an I-130 petitioner must be primary sponsor, that would be you, and if your income and/or assets after arrival in the states are not sufficient then you would need a joint sponsor for your spouse.

A second and equally important issue is domicile, you need to show that you have maintained or in process of reestablishing US domicile in order to sponsor your spouse.

What many in your situation do is file the petition at USCIS in Beijing or Guangzhou China, and once that has been done the US Citizen then returns to the USA and establishes domicile and gets a job so that they can then provide sponsorship for their spouse. You could also start looking for a job on line and contact a few potential employers before returning to the states.

Sponsorship does not come up when you file the petition only later at the visa interview.

I taged this topic so that more info can be found at the bottom of the page.

http://candleforlove.com/forums/tags/forums/DCF/