Marriage Now. Ready For Next DCF Steps...

Hi,

It has been a fun ride in China so far, I have almost been here for two years as a student, but I need a bit of help going forward for the marriage process. I got engaged last month and will be filing the marriage paperwork in China tomorrow. Included are some sort of specific questions:

• Is it wise to wait a certain amount of time after marriage to apply for the I-130?
  • Last school semester I studied mandarin in China, but I am now on a travelers visa. This will soon switch to a marriage visa. Will this cause any problems? Would I be safer to simply go back to school for next semester as the DCF procedure plays out?
  • When I received my last residence permit, it was a simple piece of paper (no blue paper that goes in the passport). Is this normal?
  • Does it matter that I will be switching from one city to another city and before filing (therefore, not being a current resident of my current city when I apply)?
  • My fiancee traveled with me to the USA late last year to visit my family. Of course, she returned to China at the planned date.
  • Is there anything else I might need to do to make this process smoother?

Thanks everyone for the help in advance.

Hi,

It has been a fun ride in China so far, I have almost been here for two years as a student, but I need a bit of help going forward for the marriage process. I got engaged last month and will be filing the marriage paperwork in China tomorrow. Included are some sort of specific questions:

* Is it wise to wait a certain amount of time after marriage to apply for the I-130?

* Last school semester I studied mandarin in China, but I am now on a travelers visa. This will soon switch to a marriage visa. Will this cause any problems? Would I be safer to simply go back to school for next semester as the DCF procedure plays out?