Tax Returns & Co Sponsor

squirty

I am a student and therefore did not make any income these past 3 years. I have my sister sponsoring me and have her tax transcripts for past 3 years. My question is, because I did not make any income do I have to submit tax returns to the VO? If so, where can I get them filed. I am in China now.

Also, is it okay to file all zeros for income since I have a sponsor? I am under the assumption that as long as I have my sponsor's paperwork in line that I should be fine. Please advise.

I am a student and therefore did not make any income these past 3 years. I have my sister sponsoring me and have her tax transcripts for past 3 years. My question is, because I did not make any income do I have to submit tax returns to the VO? If so, where can I get them filed. I am in China now.

Also, is it okay to file all zeros for income since I have a sponsor? I am under the assumption that as long as I have my sponsor's paperwork in line that I should be fine. Please advise.

Hi,

I was also a student when I filed and had no income. The first year (2005) I had some earnings so I filed, in 2006 and 2007 all I had was like $70 from earned interest in my bank accounts. I had to back file for those two years. I was in China also, and the way I did it was my mom (who was my co-sponsor) sent me the forms and I filled them out and sent them back to her. She filed them for me and then I ordered the three copies of tax transcripts. I believe that you must file even with the zero income because you are the petitioner. After that, it's all the co-sponsor's income that they look at.

Also, you may want to be careful of domicile issues, so what I did was include copies of letters from my bank saying that I had been using their accounts (I had been using my American credit card, checking account, etc.) They wrote that I was a member of good standing as of _____ (date).