Taking the GZ interview in Chinese

Just wondering, I've seen quite a few people with posts recounting easier interview experiences based on taking the interview in English. I don't think this will be possible for my wife. I majored in Chinese at university, and she only started studying English recently, so the two of us have always spoken Chinese at home. There are still several months to go before an interview will happen, but still I'm thinking even with a crash course in English...her taking the interview in English by summertime is probably out of the question. Does anyone have experience with their SO taking the interview in Chinese?...still ok?

Thanks!

As a precaution, I'd recommend giving your SO a copy of your transcripts showing the Chinese courses. That may very well any question the VO may have about your ability to communicate if your SO's English is poor.

175364[/snapback]

I am a naturalized American citizen and Chinese is my first language. English is my second language. I do not have a transcript to show that I have taken Chinese language courses. I can only show that I graduated from an American university with a master degree. But is that really necessary?

I actually speak to my wife in the same dialect - Sichuan dialect on a daily basis (my wife and I grew up in the same city). My wife does not speak English well. But I am worried if the VO can understand what my wife says.

Paul

As a precaution, I'd recommend giving your SO a copy of your transcripts showing the Chinese courses. That may very well any question the VO may have about your ability to communicate if your SO's English is poor.

175364[/snapback]

I am a naturalized American citizen and Chinese is my first language. English is my second language. I do not have a transcript to show that I have taken Chinese language courses. I can only show that I graduated from an American university with a master degree. But is that really necessary?