I-864 and Joint Sponsorship

I filed a CR1 immigration for my wife at Guz. I need to fill out an Affidavit of Support (AOS). My current income in Hong KOng is above stated poverty levels. My prior three years of income was below poverty levels (I was a teacher on the China mainland, go figure). Anyway, because my last three tax years were below poverty level which I have to indicate on the I-864, my parents are submitting a joint AOS.

Question: Do my parents submit I-864? Or do they have to submit an altogether different AOS form for supporting my AOS?

Your input is appreciated.

Thanks

hamlett22

Question: Do my parents submit I-864? Or do they have to submit an altogether different AOS form for supporting my AOS?

166571[/snapback]

As joint sponsors, your parents would submit their own I-864s. I would suggest that only one of your parents execute the I-864, not both.

Are you comfortable with your "domicile" being in the US?

166571[/snapback]

As joint sponsors, your parents would submit their own I-864s. I would suggest that only one of your parents execute the I-864, not both.

Are you comfortable with your "domicile" being in the US?

166573[/snapback]

By domicile you mean place of residence or home? I live in Shenzhen with my wife. I've been in China with her for almost 2 years straight. So my home (where I hang my hat) is here with my So and my child. But my permanent place of residence is in the U.S. whihc is where we will go once my wife gets her immigrant visa.

Hamlett22

I also lived in China for 2 straight years and my husband almost didn't get the visa because of that. Luckily, when told he must prove my ties to the US, he remembered to pull out a letter from a University accepting me to the Master's program. That was enough for us, but the VO's do take domicile as a serious issue.