Affidavit of Support

I have a question regarding the affidavit of support. Alright, so you would need to make 125% of the poverty guidelines. Ok thats good to go because I am well above that. My last two W-2's will fit the bill perfectly.

However, heres the thing. I am getting ready to get out of the military and all that nice military pay will cease to exsist halfway through the year. I am going to be a full time student and I have some pretty nice benefits to help me maintain that.

Do you guys think it will raise a flag if they see I am a full time student now? I am planning to start the paperwork in april and I will still be in the military. I am going to get a part time job as well just so I have some employment history going.

Thanks for your time.

One note: To help answer your questions you may want to use your profile signature block to give a simple BIO, "Applying for K-1" Perhaps "Met Date","Engagement Date", then things later like "Filed I-129F Date"

Anyway, Affidavit of Support comes up at the interview, not when filing the I-129F petition.

The consulate is concerned with your ability to support an immigrant AFTER the immigrant arrives in the USA. So if you are a Student, and your income falls below the threshold then you need to provide evidence that you have something more than income to provide support. (Either assets adding up to 3 times the shortfall in income, or a joint sponsor)

The evidence included with the I-134 paints a picture.

• IRS Returns (1040,W2,1099) or Transcripts. Show past income levels.
  • Pay stubs show current income levels.
  • Employer letter shows future income levels.
  • Assets show ability to supplement a low income situation.

Edited by dnoblett (see edit history)

Ok heres my game plan. I think its a good idea to go over this anyways so I know what type of shape the next 2 years of my life will be in.