Only in China

Ok, so the topic "only in China" may be incorrect, it really she be southeast asia.

I have extensive travel experience in SEA and everythime i am here something new surprises me. This being only my second trip to China and loving every minute of it I am still learning the chinese culture. One example of this is I was staying in a 5 star hotel in GUZ this week (there with my sweetie for the big trade show, wishing it was for the interview) anyway, I sent out several pieces of laundry to be DRY cleaned. They came back and some rather expensive shirts I had just bought were ruined by the dry cleaners. I had these shirts dry cleaned once before and no problems. I buy these shirts often and never have problems (tommy bahama shirts). When the shirts came back I put one on and could not button it. It had shrunk up 5 or more inches. I called to complain and they came to my room. After 3 hours and every manager in the place and a lot of arguing, they agreed to pay me $400.00 to cover the $569.00 I paid for them. I even showed them the web site with the prices. They told me I over paid for the shirts and it is not their fault for this. They said shirts like this are very cheap in China. They also wanted to take the shirts and stretch them out to fit me again. I said no way pay me for them. They finally agreed.

When I went to check out of the hotel the dry cleaning for those shirts was still on the bill. I asked them to remove it since they ruined my shirts. They looked at me dumbfounded and asked me why they should remove the dry cleaning. Finally after going back and fourth, the man told me "I understand we ruined your shirts and we paid you for them but their still clean. We did clean them as you ordered and now you should pay for this." At first I thought the guy was just trying to get some more money out of me but after a few minutes I realized he was totally serious.