The American pastime arrives in China

Guest WenDylan

Guest WenDylan

I read this segment from an article and I found it really funny and a great read!

I strolled around the back of the stands looking for the outfield bleachers and stumbled into the back parking lot of Field Two. The Cuban team was preparing to board their bus after having spanked the Netherlands 14-3. Several Cuban players said they couldn't speak English and with my almost non-existent Spanish, I couldn't do much more than ask if everything was bueno. They said it was. I approached the manager and several team officials who said, in perfect English, "We don't speak English."

Several Cuban players were signing autographs up against a fence separating the players from the fans at the U.S/China game. I went over to check it out. As the Cubans boarded the bus, three people asked for my autograph.

"I'm not a player, I am a journalist," I said, in Mandarin. "You don't want me."

"It's okay," one teenager answered in English, shoving his ticket through the fence. "Please sign."

I laughed and signed and several of his friends ran over and thrust their tickets at me. The more I signed, the larger the crowd got and the larger the crowd got the more people it attracted.

I kept saying, "You don't want my autograph. I am a journalist," but it had no effect. Not wanting to be rude, I signed. Thinking that perhaps they weren't understanding my Chinese, I asked Ngan Ying "Susannah" Cheung, a volunteer from Hong Kong who speaks perfect English, to translate for me. She laughed and said, "They understand," but then repeated it anyhow. It made no difference, so I signed over 100 autographs, all while interviewing the seekers, many of whom were from a large group of students from a nearby school.

"Do you like baseball?'

"Yes, very interesting."

"It is fun, even if we don't understand it all."

"We are proud to watch China play against the U.S.," said Cong Xiao Lei, 13, in careful but very solid English.