I'm frustrated with my pronunciation!

Catherineli

Hello every friend!

How is everyone doing? It's been almost four years since I became a member on CFL. I truly love our forum.

After I become an ESL teacher for Tulsa Public Schools, I'm more and more frustrated with my own English accent or English pronunciation. As an English teacher, I have to be a living dictionary standing in the classroom. It's a requirement of myself and from myself.

Yesterday I taught Spanish-speaking children second grade math. I only taught them simple addition. But these children are so hard to teach. It seems they will never learn. Some of them don't know how to count and don't know what equals five plus three. They have their main teacher to learn from. I observed their learning and teaching many times. Yesterday I taught a group of children. The other teacher taught a group of kids. We taught in one room. This is the least that I like American classroom. The teachers often separate the kids into several groups in one room. Some go on the computer to learn. Some sit on the floor learning things by playing games. Some are drawn to the teacher who is teaching something else. All these groups are doing their own business at the same time in one room. How can they focus on learning? My voice is too weak. I only keep my own reservations. When I can't make the kids learn, I'm very frustrated. I thought I could be the best teacher but now I know that I have to practice speaking Okie English perfectly. But I can't! No matter how hard I tried. I can't speak English the way you guys do. What shall I do? I'm so frustrated!!!

Thank you for being my friends, everyone!

I would like to use my story to entertain you guys for a happy three days!

Catherine