K1 - Hong Kong citizen living in Shanghai

Hi everyone, newbie here!

My fiance and I just got engaged and filed for the K1 visa - so exciting!

I am a citizen of Hong Kong working in Shanghai, so we just put Shanghai as the embassy of choice. But now I am reading that Guangzhou is the only embassy that issues K1 visa? I am panicking now (esp when i read about to the possible delay in receiving the packages because of Chinese custom here) and wonder if we have chosen the wrong place to apply for the visa.

I travel to Hong Kong for work often and have addresses in both cities - is it possible/do you guys advise us to call and try to switch it to Hong Kong?

Thank you so much - this is an incredibly stressful process, I am grateful forums like this to get us all moving and staying positive!

First question, why did you not marry there and simply file the I-130 Spouse visa petition to USCIS office located in Beijing? The processing time on this would be 4 - 6 months and results in a green-card upon entry to the USA allowing the immigrant the option to immediately take a job if they wish. Since you indicate being a worker and citizen of Hong Kong, I assume you are the immigrant and your fiancee is the US Citizen, and I suspect you would not want to sit around for several months after arriving in the states waiting to first marry and then file and wait for work authorization in order to take a job, this is one of the issues with the K-1 route.

Anyway, USCIS and NVC will direct the K-1 case to the consulate based on residence, probably Guangzhou based on the picking of a consulate in China, calling USCIS tends to not get you anywhere, you might get help from NVC if you call them shortly after USCIS approves the I-129F in any case Guangzhou is not far from Hong Kong.