Great Movie: A Good Rain Knows (2009) Eng Sub

Here’s a great movie you need to watch – “A Good Rain Knows” AKA “Good Rain Know Season”

Now that I’m in my fourth year of studying Mandarin, I’ve been watching a lot of Chinese movies to practice my listening abilities and to pick up some new words. I’ve ran across this movie by accident recently, since it’s listed as a Korean movie. But it’s completely filmed in Chengdu China, and is full of Chinese culture. It’s almost like a travel guide for Chengdu China.

It’s a love story with the most adorable and beautiful Chinese actress playing the lead role. Her accent and cadence, when speaking English, is so heart warming. The lead characters speak in simple English that adds to the charm of the movie. There are English subtitles for everything. Some critics wrote it’s a slow movie, but that only adds to the building of emotion of love between the two characters. I didn’t want the movie to end. On a snowy, cold and windy winter day, it was a perfect way to spend a few hours.

If your eyes are not welling up with tears at minute 42:00, you must have a cold heart. Then around minute 51:00 if you don’t think she is the most beautiful Chinese woman you have ever seen, you must be watching a different movie. Finally, at minute 1:12:00, I screamed aloud “WHAT”!