You haven't meet her yet and you discussing marriage in HK ? That's planning ahead !!

You can confirm that she lives in china (or HK) and you are working stateside?

Normally you have to file a I-130 either stateside or directly to a consulate, if you meet certain conditions...

can you share a link about filing DS-156 eform?

Guest pushbrk
Hello, Newbie here.

Do I understand correctly that if we get married in Hong Kong, then we file the DS-156 eform online for the nonimmigrant visa. Or do I still file a patition I-130 locally or both?

Mat

176267[/snapback]

The I-130 CR1 type visa is a general procedure for bringing a spouse to the USA that cannot currently enter the USA legally. The operative criteria is her country of residence and/or citizenship, not the location of your marriage.

For instance, you could have met and married a Chinese girl in, say Singapore while you were both there working. You would still need an I-130 process for her to immigrate to the US. Where you would file and where the I-130 would be processed can change based on your residence at the time of filing but not specifically based on the location of your marriage, to my knowledge.

If I remember correctly from your earlier posts, your girlfriend live in Mainland China but you are both traveling to HK for your first meeting. Is this correct? All these things are pertinent to the advice for which you ask.

Guest pushbrk
Big difference between an interview on an I-130 and a K-3. A mainlander who married in HK (or anywhere else - excluding the US) would have their I-130 interview in their place of residence. If they rseide on the mainland, that would be Guangzhou.

A k-3 normally interview in the country where the marriage took place. There are a few exceptions. Since a mainlander's access to HK isn't that difficult (they got married there didn't they) HK would be where the K-3 interview takes place. Doing so could shave 6 ~ 12 months off the time from petition to visa.

176330[/snapback]